In the beginning

About 20 months ago, I embarked on what many call a “journey”, it was journey to get my fat ass into gear and lose weight for my wedding in September 2012. Now I know people do enjoy a good before and after photograph but, being the intelligent fat girl that I was, the only pictures I have are from above and of the face, and previous tags on facebook photos have long since been deleted (and rightly so). Here’s the best I can do:

Starting weight 14st 7lbs!

116

gold dresswedding

So, I did manage to lose some weight for the big day: end weight 11st 5lbs.

 

 

 

I did this though diet and exercise (who the hell knew that would work?). I logged everything on My Fitness Pal, went to the gym and began to run. Like properly run, on a road, with running shoes on! I began this with my Husband to be (who was also distinctly fatter than when I first agreed to marry him). We started with the Couch to 5K programme. You know the one: run for 1 minute 30 seconds, Die for 30 seconds, pray the 1 minute walk is gonna be the longest minute of your life. Run for 1 minute 30 seconds and repeat. It took 9 weeks, and something which I firmly believed was impossible, was actually possible. I completed my first 5k in 39 minutes. I felt like Mo Farah, I could achieve anything so I promptly signed up for the Blessington Lakes 10k September 2012, 2 weeks before my wedding. And not only did we do it (massive hill included) we got free ice cream, fruit and a picnic bag. No wonder loads of people do this running when you get loads of free stuff!

243 246My finishing time was 68 mins 30 seconds. Mo Farah lived on!

I was delighted with my finishing time, I was un-stoppable. For a while. well, for like 2 weeks. Then the wedding happened, then the honeymoon. I was surprisingly good during the honeymoon, I ate and drank what a wanted but combated this with copious amounts of excitement, using the stairs instead of the escalators and A LOT of walking! I came back with a 2lb gain. No problem, I’ll get it off in no time! Then Christmas happened, then my husbands 30th birthday happened, then my 30th birthday happened, and the list of excuses goes on. Another 6lb gain! Right so, I needed to get motivated…again. We signed up for the Kildare 10K run. And on May 12th off we went. Poor training, poor preparation and poor nutrition led to me completing the race in just over 73 minutes. Now I know I should be proud that I did it at all, but I literally wanted to die during it and was disappointed with my finish time. So I decided, I need something else to motivate me, to push me, to get my ass moving again, and moving regularly. I need to push myself and try hard. What better motivation than a half marathon? And a half marathon which you HAVE to complete in under 3 and a half hours or they put you on a buggy bus to keep up. I imagine this to be like them scooters fat people in America have to get around supermarkets and theme parks….only in bus form. I am not, I can not and I wont end up on that bloody buggy bus!

So this blog will tell the tale of my training: my woes, my complaints, my excuses, my progress and hopefully some successes.

I WONT GO ON THE BUGGY BUS!

 

 

 

 

About leanne402

Brand new mother to a brand new baby. Trying to figure motherhood out and currently...it sucks. Hours is spent endlessly googling and searching the web to find answers, tips and places to hide a body. Found this amazing blog, written by a Daddy called "I have no idea what I am doing", I have come to the conclusion, that this wrong. It's not us, the parents who don't have a clue...it is our children/babies who don't know what they are doing, and basically...need to their s**t out. Pronto
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In the beginning

  1. Anna says:

    Wow, I’m impressed by the work you’ve already done! Good luck with your training, it’ll be nice to see how you’re coming along 🙂

  2. Ohhhhh where and when is yours?

  3. Well done by the way…amazing achievement!!

  4. Pingback: Training Failures: Half Marathon Training, Week 5. | leanneandthehalfmarathon

Leave a Reply

