Achievements. Half Marathon Training: Week 2 Day 2

Ok, so today was meant to be a ‘rest’ day, however, in order to fit in with my husband’s football schedule we decided to run today and have a rest day tomorrow.
I find the evening runs very hard to motivate myself for; I leave the house at 06:40 for work and return home at 21:10. I am a nurse who works 13.5 hour shifts. To combat this inevitable lack of motivation, I just make up my mind, and do it. “I am going to run today, no matter what”…cue catastrophic thinking “what if I get bad news when I get home? What if I find out the TV is being repossessed because we are 2 days overdue for the licence?”

“I am going to run today, no matter what”

Well, there was no bad news, no one had died, the house hadn’t been robbed, it wasn’t raining, I was gonna miss Hannibal on TV but I was taping it. It could wait. And run we did.

photoTonight’s Goals;

1) Run mindfully, avoid complicated mathematical equations to predict finish time and distance.

2) Don’t shout at my running partner for being; too fast, too slow, talking to me, waiting for me or not waiting for me.

3) Run for 38 minutes as per training programme.

 

 

Results?

1) Mindfulness
I did run mindfully, that is, being present in the moment and experiencing your thoughts in a non-judgemental way whilst not letting your thoughts run away with you (e.g. you see a police car, rather than thinking “I wonder where that’s going? Are they over the speed limit? Are they going dogging? Are they from Blessington or Dublin? I wonder if they think I am a fast runner. I wonder how I look when I’m running. Do I look stupid? Do I look fat?” [Briefly checks legs to ensure they haven’t ballooned since last I looked at them] NOBODY CARES, IT’S A POLICE CAR AND THAT’S IT).
So during this mindfulness practice I noticed the following;

• The smell of freshly cut grass – Spring is here

• Lots of birds chirping away

• In a wee little lake, a pair of swans, one asleep on their massive nest

• Running past 3 pubs – the smell of smoke from the smokers standing outside (Mindfulness fail…I am an ex smoker, this gives me permission to judge you)

• The smell of BBQ spare ribs from the local Chinese

• 4 other runners: 2 females and 2 males, the females were actually having a conversation whilst running…this led to another mindfulness fail. “Who talks whilst running? People can actually do that? Can I do that?” (I tried….I can’t)

• With every mindfulness fail, I made a conscious effort to bring my attention back to the present and my breathing, which was controlled and regular, a quick check of the Heart Rate Monitor to ensure I wasn’t dying, and then back to the Mindfulness practice.

• The mindful running, I don’t think helped me go any faster, but I was less frustrated than the previous runs. – SUCCESS

2) I didn’t shout at him, once. He was well behaved 😉

3) I ran the 38 minutes;

• 5K completed in 32 minutes 30 seconds MY BEST TIME EVER!
• Quickest mile EVER
• Quickest km EVER
• 5.77km in 38 minutes

photo (4)photo (1)photo (3)

So, overall, a great run I thought. (Only another 10 miles to go)
I also forgot to mention, I lost 2.6lbs this week. This doesn’t delight me as much as completing my fastest 5k ever; perhaps it’s not all about weight after all?

About leanne402

Brand new mother to a brand new baby. Trying to figure motherhood out and currently...it sucks. Hours is spent endlessly googling and searching the web to find answers, tips and places to hide a body. Found this amazing blog, written by a Daddy called "I have no idea what I am doing", I have come to the conclusion, that this wrong. It's not us, the parents who don't have a clue...it is our children/babies who don't know what they are doing, and basically...need to their s**t out. Pronto
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Achievements. Half Marathon Training: Week 2 Day 2

  1. leanne402 says:

    Reblogged this on leanneandthehalfmarathon and commented:

    Week 2, half marathon training. Achievements and progress.

Leave a Reply

