Summer Running and The Silence of the Lambs. Half Marathon training week 2 day 4

So the dreaded ‘Saturday’ or long run had arrived. I’m meant to run for 60 minutes but just think “fuck it, might as well do 10K”. The previous week, I had attempted a 10K, I had to stop at 4.87K, and couldn’t go any further, so I headed out yesterday feeling anxious and dreading it.

Again, the elements were against me. This time it wasn’t windy, it was sunny and hot. 14 degrees C or 57.2 degrees F! Now this may be positively cold for some people, but bear in mind; I live in Ireland and I am Ginger and my pallor is one befitting a red head. I am not made for the sun, I like running in the dark, bitter cold, with no wind!

The result…I was slow. I was dragging my arse around our route, and dying of dehydration and what I firmly believed to be; heat stroke (slight exaggeration). I wasn’t even getting out of breath, I just felt heavy and sleepy. (I read a blog the other day with someone experiencing similar, so I know I’m not alone).

And then the ‘The Silence of the Lambs’ happened.

It’s one of my favourite films, so much so, that I can nearly quote it, word for word. The feeling of heaviness reminded me of the quid pro quo scene between Lecter and Starling. She talks about trying to carry a lamb to freedom and says “but he was so heavy. So heavy”, her tone and metal anguish was exactly how I felt! Who does this kinda shit when they’re running? Just me? Please tell me it’s not just me!

Cue me wanting to recite certain scenes of ‘The Silence of the Lambs’ (I was running! Why the hell was I wasting time with this?). I couldn’t remember Lecters’ description of Jamie Gumb to the senator. It was infuriating me, I knew this, why couldn’t I remember this? Jesus Leanne, come on…YOU KNOW THIS. (Wait a minute, am I still running? Yeah….anyway; “THE SCENE LEANNE, REMEMBER THE SCENE”).

Then I ran into a butterfly (really), well it flew into my knee, so now, added on to dying of sun stroke, being inept at remembering very important things such as lines from films, I was now a butterfly killer.

Cue remembering the scene where Starling visits the bug boys:

“If the beetle moves one of your men, does it still count?”

“Of course it does, how do you play?”

THE LECTER SCENE LEANNE, YOU KNOW THIS, HIS DESCRIPTION OF JAMIE GUMB? IS…..

But because I was thinking of bugs and butterflies and Jamie Gumb my thoughts/recollections went as follows;

Jamie (or James) Gumb, when he asked Starling “Oh wait is she a great big old fat person?”

Yes exactly. Here was me, a great big old fat person, dying around this stupid 10K route with sun stroke, I look ridiculous, this is never going to easier, I’ve no chance at doing this every week (am I still running? Oh yeah).

It was at this point I decided mindfulness was very much needed otherwise I was going to burst into tears, obese, with sunstroke, a butterfly killer inept at remembering very important things.

I smelt the air, the cut grass, the sheep poop. I looked at the sheep (and didn’t think of a lamb roast), I felt the sun on my head (I HATE YOU SUN) and the breeze on my face (I LOVE YOU WIND). I did this for a few minutes and then the miracle happened;

“Five foot ten, strongly built, about 180 pounds; hair blonde, eyes pale blue.
He’d be about 35 now. He said he lived in Philadelphia, but may have lied.
That’s all I can remember, mam, but if I think of anything more, I will let you know.
Oh, and Senator? Just one more thing…love the suit”

BOOM! I knew I could do it! Wait a minute, am I still running? Yes. 8.34K down, thank feck for that, keep going, just keep going, you can remember small scenes from ‘The Silence of Lambs’ off by heart and that’s very important, you can do anything if you can do that!

10KM completed in 72 minutes 47 seconds. My third best 10K.

My first being a race in September: 68 minutes

My second a practice in September: 70 minutes 38 seconds

So no, not my best ever, but certainly better than my road race 2 weeks ago (73 minutes 30 seconds) so I am pleased with it.

I need to get used to running in the sun, shift work doesn’t always make this possible, so I will aim to do it once a week. And the sun just better pander to my training needs.

I think, I need to continue with the mindful running, my thoughts on this run just led to far too much catastrophic thinking and frustration. I may need to think of better films to quote in my head. I can do ‘Back to the Future’, so perhaps I’ll try that.

In other news, a friend of mine completed her first 10K today, awesomely. I remember her being reluctant to go running on the roads and she’s done it! I’m hoping this will convince her to do the half marathon with me! I was reluctant to sign up to do it, but perhaps maybe it’s now time to start thinking “I can”.

I also need to try and not kill any more wildlife.

And that’s it for now “you fly back to school now, little Starling(s), fly fly fly, fly fly fly…..

About leanne402

Brand new mother to a brand new baby. Trying to figure motherhood out and currently...it sucks. Hours is spent endlessly googling and searching the web to find answers, tips and places to hide a body. Found this amazing blog, written by a Daddy called "I have no idea what I am doing", I have come to the conclusion, that this wrong. It's not us, the parents who don't have a clue...it is our children/babies who don't know what they are doing, and basically...need to their s**t out. Pronto
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Summer Running and The Silence of the Lambs. Half Marathon training week 2 day 4

  1. That’s a great time already for a 10k! 🙂 My last time was 65mins and to think I’m already on my 2nd month so you are doing a great job!!! 🙂 So excited to follow a newbie runner’s blog! Yipee!

  2. Hahaha I am LOVING the silence of the lambs quotes! I think everyone feels like this at some point during tough (long) runs! Whenever this happens to me, I try to have a go-to song that I know will cheer me up and get me through! I agree with you about being “mindful” while running…I just read a book called savor that is all about mindfulness and it really has helped me appreciate the exercise I do!

    • leanne402 says:

      😉 Thank you. Thanks for book recommendation, I’ll check at out! I don’t feel as crazy anymore. I’m gonna take my ipod out on the next run as the last few, I’ve been running with no music. I think, it’ll give me a break from my own head!

  3. First post I’ve read but if you’re in week two, does that mean you have 1o weeks left? Great job finishing your distance goal! My favorite temperature is 58 degrees so that would have been perfect for me.

    • leanne402 says:

      Yeah, 10 weeks to go. I’m alternating between feeling really positive and really anxious about the whole thing. It’s a long way to run! And 58? I think I’d die 😉

      • Our weather was in the 80s during my 10ish mile training runs. I did die. Once I left the house, felt dehydrated and weak and quit. I prepared much more for the next hot run!

  4. I stumbled upon your blog while checking out the rock and roll Dublin page. I’m in the USA and thinking about traveling to Ireland and running the race. But I’ve never traveled so far from home so it definitely gives me anxiety thinking about making the trip. The race I can handle, I’ve done 5 halfs so far this year. Anyway a weird thought I have while running. …my favorite tv show is “Survivor”….sometimes I will notice sticks and twigs, maybe some dry leaves on the path. …I think about how I would use the items make fire if I were on the show. So lame. Loving your blog!

    • leanne402 says:

      Thank you! I LOVE the survivor idea! Zombies or pretending I’m Batman would also be a great motivation.
      You will love Dublin, and I think it’s amazing that you’re making the trip! Let me know if you want any tourist info or info on places to stay.
      And, we may even cross paths as your flying ahead of me on the day 😀

Leave a Reply

