Lord of the Rings: Half Marathon Training, week 3 day 2.

Day off from work today so I decided I’d go for my 48 minute run on my own. It was hot and sunny so I wore my new running belt so I could keep hydrated. (I’m such a professional).

Set the Nike running app to a ‘speed run’ to beat my best 5K time of 32:30. Headphones in and off I went.

I wanted to listen to music today, I just wanted to hear some good tunes. I also wanted to hear the pace announcements properly. I’d never used this setting before and I thought you’d get prompts telling you “you need to run quicker”. You don’t and my iPod shuffle…Jeez!

Every other song was from the Lord of Rings soundtrack for the first 8 songs. Really? Lord of the Rings? I decided to embrace this and imagine I was running across middle earth to rescue poor Merry and Pippin from the Orcs, carrying a sword and looking all sexy. Ha ha, of course I didn’t do this, that would be sad and immature and very strange…

I did do it, I did it so bad, and then I couldn’t stop doing it!

In my splendour, I imagine I looked something like this:

GimliRun

Of course, I started thinking I looked more like Gimli rather than anything remotely sexy or attractive. I felt like him too “natural sprinters, very dangerous over short distances”, Oh great, I was back to quoting films again, wait a minute…can I, is it still there?

“Five foot ten, strongly built, about 180 pounds; hair blonde, eyes pale blue.
He’d be about 35 now. He said he lived in Philadelphia, but may have lied.
That’s all I can remember, mam, but if I think of anything more, I will let you know.
Oh, and Senator? Just one more thing…love the suit”

Yup, still had it!

I knew I wasn’t getting the pace I needed and this was frustrating me, it was also school lunch time and there were gangs of kids mulling about town, this is how I feel when I have to run past a gang of teenagers:photo (3)

Yup, suspicious and convinced they are; drinking, smoking, taking drugs and plotting to kill a female runner resembling Gimli from Lord of the Rings who’s stupid enough to go running with a running belt on!

One of em got in my way, like, obviously on purpose and I knocked into her, hard, as a result my surprising strength (more surprising for me) nearly knocked her over and she squealed in fright, ha ha served her right. I cursed at her for getting in my way! Immaturity at its’ best there!

I do believe though that runners should have special ownership of the roads. That pedestrians, cyclists and cars about turn into the road you’re about to cross, should take into the account the effort a runner is putting into their run and adjust their travel plans in order to pander to our running needs! DON’T GET IN MY WAY, IF I STOP, I’LL NEVER BLOODY START AGAIN!

I got to 5k in 33mins 13 seconds. That 32:30 is quickly becoming a distant memory! 7K in 48 mins 20 seconds (I walked for about 2 minutes after the 5k to prevent death). So not too bad. And re/ the running belt, I don’t look at other people and think they look ridiculous if they are wearing one, so I don’t have the right to presume that others are thinking that for me. The thought that I look ridiculous is my own, no one else’s (and if it is, then feck them, they don’t matter), I needed the damn thing, I could re/hydrate and carry my phone without having to wear my running coat in the blistering heat. Once I thought of it like that, I didn’t think I looked ridiculous any more. Cognitive Behavioural Therapy at it’s best.

5k tomorrow, I’m guessing it’ll take me about 2hrs to complete at the rate I’m going 😉

I also lost another 2lbs this week. 4.5 more lbs and I’ve got myself a healthy BMI.

 

About leanne402

Brand new mother to a brand new baby. Trying to figure motherhood out and currently...it sucks. Hours is spent endlessly googling and searching the web to find answers, tips and places to hide a body. Found this amazing blog, written by a Daddy called "I have no idea what I am doing", I have come to the conclusion, that this wrong. It's not us, the parents who don't have a clue...it is our children/babies who don't know what they are doing, and basically...need to their s**t out. Pronto
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lord of the Rings: Half Marathon Training, week 3 day 2.

  1. Awesome time still!!! 🙂 I use Simple Hydration Bottle, I’m still quite hesitant to purchase a hydration belt coz I’m conscious of being looked at. I know I musn’t care but here in Manila they will look at you funny LOL

  2. For someone who is still on week 3 of C25K, running for anything longer than 3 minutes is awesome! And I love the idea of imagining yourself running across Middle Earth to save hobbits 🙂

    • leanne402 says:

      Ha ha thanks! My imagination runs away with me sometimes. I remember starting the C25K and I felt like crying during the 1 min run. Every week you’ll feel brilliant, because of how you progress. 3 minutes is gonna become 30 in no time 🙂

  3. fitin52 says:

    Your self-deprecating humor is hilarious! But seriously, don’t get so down on yourself. You’re doing awesome! And remember, Gimli is a hero 😉

    • leanne402 says:

      Thanks so much! I’m working on really challenging my negative thoughts and frustration during my runs. It’s a long one today so here’s hoping it helps! And yeah, you’re right, he is a hero 🙂

Leave a Reply

