Recovery Run and a Diabolical Streak

Today was a 5k recovery run. So, no concentrating on time, pace or distance. Just run, till the nice Nike + lady tells you you’re done!

Today was the first day were I thought “bollocks to this, I just wanna stay home”.
I have a twisted pelvis (sounds a lot worse than it is) and it was niggling at me. Then I remembered today’s run was a RECOVERY run. According to this website my 5k runs should be 2-3 minutes slower than my “race pace” (or my albeit, slow, best pace). So off I went. Again…

During the run, I remembered when I was 60lbs heavier, I couldn’t walk up a certain hill without dying a little inside, and when I began the couch to 5k programme I was hunched over, desperately trying to drag my fat ass up it. I run up it no problem now. In fact, I run up two. My posture is tall, straight and strong. I can look at what’s happening around me rather than the floor. When I was heavier, I was plagued by persistent back pain and went through expensive treatment to give me some ease.

No pain now, except for exercise induced aches…which I cherish, this is the body making muscle. I’ll have legs like the Hulk in no time 😉

5K completed and pelvis pain has somewhat reduced. Who knew? a recovery run actually helps you…recover! I’ve also learned that Jill Tracy’s album ‘Diabolical Streak’ is AMAZING to listen to whilst running especially for a slower run!

20130603-135412.jpg

And I realised today that in the last 3 weeks, I have ran 4 times each week. This is a big achievement for me and makes me feel like I can keep going.

9 weeks and counting till the half marathon!

About leanne402

Brand new mother to a brand new baby. Trying to figure motherhood out and currently...it sucks. Hours is spent endlessly googling and searching the web to find answers, tips and places to hide a body. Found this amazing blog, written by a Daddy called "I have no idea what I am doing", I have come to the conclusion, that this wrong. It's not us, the parents who don't have a clue...it is our children/babies who don't know what they are doing, and basically...need to their s**t out. Pronto
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recovery Run and a Diabolical Streak

  1. Hey! I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! Keep up the great work! I have enjoyed reading your blog! http://wp.me/p3mFCa-aE

Leave a Reply

