Pace and Endurance Runs and Pain. Half Marathon Training: Week 4 Days 3 and 4.

The Pace Run
Ok, so Thursday marked my pace run. I was still mentally and physically exhausted from the presentation. Anxiety can be a draining thing, so after my 13.5hr shift off I went.
I thought:
“lets try a different route, mix it up a bit

Lesson learned, I ain’t doing it again. Ow ow ow. It hurt. I had the pace notifications set for every 0.25km. It is really beneficial to keep track of your pace. It was hot, I was heavy and it was 21:30…nearly bedtime. Anyway:

20130608-121118.jpg

So, I did it, by 4 seconds. Disappointed not to be under 32mins but still, I achieved what I’d set out to and that was good enough!

The Endurance Run

Picture the scene, it’s 25 degrees outside, the sun is blazing and here I was off to run 12k. My farthest ever.

I was so slow, the heat was killing me.
It took me 40 minutes to complete 5k, my slowest ever.
There were times during it when I though “I can’t do this”

On and on and on I went.
I did it, 12K! Eventually. Damn heat buggering up my training. Even though I was slow, I only stopped once. I stopped to take this:

20130609-093850.jpg
This was on our route, breathtakingly beautiful.

Here we are post 12k!

20130609-094002.jpg

20130609-094024.jpg
I’m not going to be disheartened by my time. Running in heat means running slower. This info on how to run in hot weather here

The endurance run on Friday instead of Saturday meant that it was barbecue day on Saturday!

20130609-094333.jpg

And sure, I may as well crack it open for breakfast! It would be rude not to!

happy running people

About leanne402

Brand new mother to a brand new baby. Trying to figure motherhood out and currently...it sucks. Hours is spent endlessly googling and searching the web to find answers, tips and places to hide a body. Found this amazing blog, written by a Daddy called "I have no idea what I am doing", I have come to the conclusion, that this wrong. It's not us, the parents who don't have a clue...it is our children/babies who don't know what they are doing, and basically...need to their s**t out. Pronto
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

