Second Run of the Day and my Husbands Review of his New Brooks Shoes and Footbalance insoles.

Oh, my God, the title of this says it all: “we appear to be runners now”, where did the Rock n’ Roll lifestyle go eh? So, I did go for my second 5k of the day, accompanied by the husband in his new running shoes and his new insoles. Again I was dressed for ‘summer running’, same temp outside as my ‘noon’ run, but is was overcast and breezy, FINALLY, SOME RELIEF FROM THE SUN! And, as promised here’s my husbands review:photo (8)

I run like a duck would if a duck was training for a Half Marathon. My feet point outwards at uncomfortable angles and this in turn “opens” my knees and can lead to pain. I always thought that the pain was due to being of above average height. I am six foot three and the majority of that is legs. As a result, the pain and discomfort I felt was simply put down to genetics and something that I could not change.

I have been running in a knackered pair of Nike trainers, I have no idea what model they are but they are old. And white. They are relatively comfortable or so I thought. I decided that I needed a new pair that was specifically designed for people doing long distance running. A feature of some sports shops is that they will measure gait and analyse your running technique. This is done by making you run, shoeless, on a treadmill at a slow jog for about 30 seconds. Afterwards they make you watch the run back on a computer screen. They slow the frame speed down so that you can see the impact of each footfall. Now, apparently many people suffer from what I do. What happens is that when your foot lands you roll the ankle to the right too much. As a result, the shock of the impact is not dispersed properly as it would be if you landed on a straight ankle. It is something called Over Pronation, a website about it is here . The shop assistant said that it was bad but could be helped if I spent a small fortune on corrective insoles. I thought I would look like this:

tumblr_ltx1ucB44y1qccbw9o1_400

Footbalance makes the insoles themselves and they slip into where the normal insole goes. They are moulded to your feet and as a result, they are meant to offer support and additional comfort. They were shockingly expensive for what they actually are but the shop assistant did mention about three times that I was under no obligation to purchase them. However, he had been assisting me for about half an hour and I would feel mean if I did not. Aside from the feeling that I had been sold Snake Oil, I thought I would test them out on a short jog. I also bought a new pair of running trainers, Brooks Vapor 10, if you are the type of person who pays attention to the makes and models of things.

The run itself was relatively easy, 5k in just over 31 minutes. It means that I was working but not killing myself or pushing too hard. The shoes (and to an extent the running socks – I am utterly tooled up) were really comfortable and flexible. Each footfall was comfortable and due to the aeration in the side of the shoe, my feet were never too warm. The insoles were noticeable at the start of the run this is because they were lifting the arch of my feet. However, I forgot this after about 100 meters. I asked the wife and she said she thought my feet pointed inward more than before, it is not something I noticed. I experienced no pain in my knees at all. I imagine that the more I run the more beneficial they will be. So I just have to keep on at it.

So, there you have it, his review of insoles. We are spending our evenings, within the first year of marriage, discussing insoles. photo (9)

 

Love eh?

I completed the 5k in 33:56, a whole 21 seconds better than this mornings run! I am dreading the ‘Pace’ run on Thursday. I think, I actually may die.

 

About leanne402

Brand new mother to a brand new baby. Trying to figure motherhood out and currently...it sucks. Hours is spent endlessly googling and searching the web to find answers, tips and places to hide a body. Found this amazing blog, written by a Daddy called "I have no idea what I am doing", I have come to the conclusion, that this wrong. It's not us, the parents who don't have a clue...it is our children/babies who don't know what they are doing, and basically...need to their s**t out. Pronto
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

