Broken Records. Half Marathon Training: Week 6, Day 1

My training plan states I only need to run for 30mins today, but after running 2 5ks last Monday, I’m thinking

“sod it, might as well just do a 10k”.

So 10k I did.

It was pretty un-eventful, I read a post on breathing a few weeks ago. You know, where you breathe in for 2 strides and out for 2?
Thought, I’d give it a go!
Nope, not doing that again. Nearly fell over my feet. Damn that’s hard. I was like Bambi on ice!
Thinking about it though, yes it may help with pacing but, I figure:

The human body has worked hard to perfect it’s evolution, if mine ain’t learnt how to breathe when it needs to, I’m pretty much screwed anyway!

My body and my breathing will sort itself out.

No sun, no rain, nice breeze…perfect for a run, and…

20130624-160852.jpg
Yup, this is 1min 4secs slower than my first 10k race last September! My quickest ever doing it at home, and 5 mins off my last 10k race!

BOOM

All I could think throughout the run was:

“at least it’s not 14k and at least it ain’t Saturday yet…that 15k is going to hurt”.

I don’t know exactly why my time improved. I wasn’t aiming for it. Had the notifications on the Nike + app turned off until the end. I’m thinking it may be a result of the long runs each week and also my change in diet.
I’ve upped my calorie intake on the advice of this girls awesome fitness and health blog, it’s a great blog about her weight loss and health finding journey. This girl’s lost nearly 150lbs! So she knows what she’s talking about!
I am eating really healthy stuff, and preparing everything from scratch. I can only think that I’m giving my body the fuel it needs to:

20130624-162534.jpg
So, I guess, I’ll just keep running, just keep running, running, running, running

About leanne402

Brand new mother to a brand new baby. Trying to figure motherhood out and currently...it sucks. Hours is spent endlessly googling and searching the web to find answers, tips and places to hide a body. Found this amazing blog, written by a Daddy called "I have no idea what I am doing", I have come to the conclusion, that this wrong. It's not us, the parents who don't have a clue...it is our children/babies who don't know what they are doing, and basically...need to their s**t out. Pronto
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Broken Records. Half Marathon Training: Week 6, Day 1

  1. Wahey a wee PB in the bag and its only Monday! Well done.

    I tried a breathing technique where you aim to exhale whilst landing on alternate feet, its supposed to stop you from getting a stitch. I couldn’t do it, the more I think about breathing the worse it gets, I get stressed out and think, how to I manage to breathe when I’m doing other things?! Mental.

    Its best not to think about it, I find. Lovin yer post!

  2. I’m late to the party here but… When I was doing the C25K podcast they said about the breathing… I tried it and I too then spent the next 20mins trying to figure out how I manage to breathe full stop…..

    I think I’ll stick to my ‘normal’ breathing!!

Leave a Reply

