I can not run on a treadmill.

So, again, I was misbehaved last week. Drinking in the sunshine! Two 8ks and that was it.
This week I need to get back on it. Next week, I’m going away on me holidays (Edinburgh and family visiting), there’ll be lots of drink…and very little training, 4 weeks to go till the half marathon 😦

It’s a glorious summer here at the minute. Temps in 70s. To put it mildly IT’S TOO FUCKING HOT TO RUN IN
So, we decided, it’s Gym time, 10k on the treadmill. Although cooler than outside it was still sweltering heat. After 5 long minutes, the clothes were stuck to me and I was actually sweating my hair colour off!
To make things worse, the treadmills overlook the damn pool! Who thinks the ridiculous layouts through? It looked soooooooooo cool in there, and I desperately needed to do this:

20130710-103406.jpg
I was sooooo slow, I am always slower on the treadmill. How does that work, ain’t it supposed to be easier, constant speed, constant flats? Nope. Bloody well hard, and all I had in my head was:
“we’re on a road to nowhere…”

20130710-103715.jpg
So, in between dying, melting, slowing to a walk and jumping off the damn thing altogether, I decided on the 4 song rule

20130710-103839.jpg
1) Cover the treadmill display
2) Don’t look at it until 4 songs have played
3) No changing the songs (even if epic musical pieces from ‘The Lord of the Rings’ soundtrack come on).
This worked well, and it was a shame I only thought of it when I was 6k in.
Towards the end, I thought fuck this, just stop, you’re slow, you’re dying, and there’s no point
Then the boss rescued me…

20130710-104246.jpg
just keep running, just keeping running, running, running, running
(Or indeed, slow jogging)
10k, eventually completed in 79mins…errrrr 10mins slower than my last one! Whoopsie. But feck it, I did it, I have always been slower on the treadmill, always will be, and it was too damn hot to run

Come this half marathon me thinks “I’m fucked”

About leanne402

Brand new mother to a brand new baby. Trying to figure motherhood out and currently...it sucks. Hours is spent endlessly googling and searching the web to find answers, tips and places to hide a body. Found this amazing blog, written by a Daddy called "I have no idea what I am doing", I have come to the conclusion, that this wrong. It's not us, the parents who don't have a clue...it is our children/babies who don't know what they are doing, and basically...need to their s**t out. Pronto
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I can not run on a treadmill.

  1. I can never run on treadmill for a 10km! The longest I did was an 8km run and I almost die of boredom haha! So kudos on you!!! 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    70 sounds like dream weather compared to the mid-90s we have! But I hear you on the treadmill; it’s hard for me to stay on that thing for more than half an hour.

  3. keo says:

    I’m so much slower on the treadmill too! I don’t understand it and it makes me annoyed because that just makes it that much longer that I have to run for!!

    • leanne402 says:

      At least I’m not the only one. I think it’s because when your outside you can respond to your body, slow down when you need to and speed up when you can. Also, there ain’t no downhills on a treadmill 😉

  4. leannenalani says:

    Treadmill and elliptical machines are so boring but with the right music it’s possible to kind of get lost in it… But maybe that’s if you do it on a regular basis.

  5. June Brisk says:

    Me thinks so to 😀

  6. Pingback: Skinny doesn’t always = happy or healthy: the woes of the gym | leanneandthehalfmarathon

Leave a Reply

