The Rock n Roll Dublin Half-Marathon and Awesome Americans

I know, I know, I am so late in writing about the Rock n Roll Half Marathon in Dublin. But, anyway, I did it. In 2:38:19. Not the fastest time, I’m not quite Mo Farah…yet but, I did it. It’s been a very quick 12 weeks in the build up to the race.

Initially, I had to overcome some idiotic body image hang-ups. I felt too fat to run. Then I saw people recovering from cancer, women running in only their bras in aid of breast cancer research and a guy in a blonde wig and the most painful looking Baywatch costume ever. I was an asshole for having body image issues. Throughout the run, the sweat, smells, grunts and nose emptyings (from others, not me, honest) I didn’t once look at someone and judge them for how they looked so I doubt anybody judged me. I had nothing but admiration and respect for all the runners.

The race itself was interesting. Getting ready and waiting around, I was prepared for. People not starting in the coral they we supposed to, I thought was a bit odd but anyway, I overtook most of em quick enough. The route itself was fine and the bands, particularly the ‘Keltic Kats’ were brilliant. However, there was a distinct lack of support. I’ve only run two 10k races in the past, but in each of them it seemed all the locals were out in support of the runners. This one, not so much, and I felt the irritation of the drivers held back by these pesky runners. A lot of the run was very quiet and although the live music did perk you up a bit, it seemed to exacerbate the quietness after you’d passed them. Come mile 7, they’d run out of water. Really! It was ridiculous, I was ok with the isotonic drink but the husband couldn’t have it due to being “allergic” to orange and others didn’t want it anyway. I thought it would be better organised than that. Then over the finish line…yay…NO WATER. We had to wait for them to get water to us. Didn’t they know how many people were running? Other than this minor (actually major) issue, it was a great day…in hindsight. I have also come to the conclusion that Americans are born with an innate umph, loudness, politeness and joy. Especially when going passed the bands when they started dancing and clapping, and thanking every volunteer along the route. It was awesome. Some also just stopped to take pictures of the sites. This was great as it helped me gain an appreciation of my surroundings as well as being baffled as to why they were stopping during a race. Maybe it was more of a run rather than a race. I think I need to get the word “race” out of my head, it’s too pressurising, I ain’t ever gonna be an elite athlete and I’m ok with that, I just need to run and enjoy it! Well, I say that now, but during the run, I felt like this:

20130811-191607.jpg

Yeah, not the most positive thinking I know. But, damn, that running was hurting!

I wanted to die after mile 8, kill myself at mile 9, and if I was anywhere close to it, I’d have jumped at the chance to get on that buggy bus at mile 10. I didn’t though, didn’t even see what the damn bus looked like J go me. So it’s over, and I’m glad, and I’m excited for the next adventure…the Rock N Roll in Edinburgh next April. I also have a 10K race in 4 weeks. Best keep running. Here’s the photographic evidence that I actually did the damn thing:

20130811-191938.jpg20130811-192006.jpg

 

20130811-192018.jpg20130811-192034.jpg

 

20130811-192047.jpg

So, throughout my first half marathon adventure I’ve learned a lot, such as:

1) Don’t put off the long run – just do it, it’s worse if you put it off.

2) You will easily get used to warm water and realise that it aint that bad.

3) If you need a break from training, take one, but accept this will effect your time/pace. I also can not run when hungover.

4) You can run a half marathon on 3 hours sleep.

5) Summer running sucks! Don’t be put off going for a run because it’s raining, running in the rain is a glorious thing.

6) Running belts are irritating especially if you have an awesome ass that causes the damn thing to bounce a lot.

7) Fat, thin, tall, short, old or young….you can run a half marathon.

8) Protein bars are vile.

9) Half marathons are hard.

10) That beer and pizza fest you promised yourself after the run, ain’t gonna be as rock n’ roll as you’d imagined, you’re probably gonna be too tired, you’re legs will feel funny and you’ll find you alternate between periods of sheer exhaustion and mania very rapidly.

So, now what should I blog about? I wrote an article about football, maybe I should just watch football for the next few months and earn some ‘true fan’ status and revel in the Green Bay Packers winning the Superbowl next year? IT WILL HAPPEN. GO PACK GO. And, I’ll have to blog about the fabulous cake I’m gonna make in celebration of my doing the Blessington lakes 10k again and the start of the football season.

Or I guess I should keep writing about health and fitness? I’ve set new goals, time to start picking up weights I HATE STRENGHT TRAINING, but I need to tone up my bingo wings. Also, need to try and improve my running times.

20130811-193544.jpg

About leanne402

Brand new mother to a brand new baby. Trying to figure motherhood out and currently...it sucks. Hours is spent endlessly googling and searching the web to find answers, tips and places to hide a body. Found this amazing blog, written by a Daddy called "I have no idea what I am doing", I have come to the conclusion, that this wrong. It's not us, the parents who don't have a clue...it is our children/babies who don't know what they are doing, and basically...need to their s**t out. Pronto
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Rock n Roll Dublin Half-Marathon and Awesome Americans

  1. TartanJogger says:

    Great review, Leanne! You rock for running that half, and for being a football fan…. Even if you do support the Packers! Ok, I can’t comment, since the Jaguars are my team. Only a few short weeks to the new season, bring it! My money’s for this year’s SB is on the Broncos- that Manning/Welker pairing will be something 😉

  2. John says:

    Nice one, so you recommend running after three hours sleep and being hungover? You just need some celeb endorsement and you’re on your way!

  3. I’m so stressed out about the organisers running out of water! This makes me thirsty just thinking about it! I generally don’t drink on a run, but probably would about the 8 mile mark, but by the sounds of things I would have been out of luck. I’ll definitely be taking some of my own when I run the half.

    Just think, now you can run for the fun of it for a while, without thinking about time or distance. I bet you’ll fall in love with it all over again 😉

  4. Jessica says:

    Congrats on finishing! I can’t believe they ran out of water. How many runners were there?

  5. leannenalani says:

    Congrats for doing that half marathon! I gotta say, I don’t run so I can’t even jog a 5k. The one I did this week was all walking. lol I can’t believe they ran out of WATER! That’s crazy. They should have had excess water.
    I also hate strength training. It’s so boring and just plain not fun. But we gotta do it, right?

  6. Congrats again on finishing!!! Loved reading your recap. Also, LOVE THAT YOU ARE A PACKER FAN!! I am actually going to watch them practice tomorrow, a friend of mine got us field passes!!

  7. Congrats on finishing!! I’m about 99% decided to run my first half in February! Go Cowboys! (Sorry, been a fan since birth) 😀

  8. Awww! You did it! Awesome time! 🙂 Words cannot capture what a first timer like us experienced in a Half Marathon! Pure bliss! 🙂 Proud of you!

Leave a Reply

